Thread: Merchant Navy Newbie

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Merchant Navy Newbie

Hello All,

My name is Matt, 27 years old, and I am new to the Merchant Navy. I am due to start Deck Cadet Training/Study in February 2024 at Fleetwood. I just wanted to introduce myself and ask if anyone has any general advice for training, life at sea etc? I am looking forward to starting!

Best Wishes

2. Thanks j.sabourn, cappy, N/A thanked for this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Merchant Navy Newbie

Most on here Matt would have been at least 10 years younger than 27 on starting by the age of 27 I was sailing as mate with a masters certificate. So all my earlier years would probably be different than what you will experience today. However saying that, like all good tradesman I would suggest you learn all the dark secrets of the ships you serve on , you can’t tell people what to do unless you have done them yourself, this will entail doing every -hitty job going with a smile on your face you will either love it or hate it. A ship is a big equalizer of men, and today women also. Best of luck. Cheers JS
    R575129

4. Thanks Doc Vernon, N/A thanked for this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

#2. Addittion to this post there will be 72 years difference between your starting time and mine 1952 and 2024. There has been a lot of water under the bridge in the meantime.Cheers JS
    Last edited by j.sabourn; 8th December 2023 at 06:27 AM.
    R575129

6. Thanks Doc Vernon thanked for this post
    Likes cappy, N/A, Graham Payne, thomas michael liked this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)