Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Mutiny on the high seas

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Mutiny on the high seas

When I was a ships writer one of my tasks was to fill out the charge sheet for those who were going to be "logged" and also to accompany said offender up to the chartroom to see the Old Man, presenting both charge sheet and offender, to be dealt with accordingly. My presence presumably being required as is was generally assumed that the offenders were incapable of finding their way to the bridge without assistance. On this particular occasion, the offender had so enraged the second steward that he (the 2nd stwd) decided that his charge was to be "mutinous behavior on the high seas".
    Upon presentation of this charge to the old man, he, looking aghast and probably grumpy at the tediousness of it all, and without even casting a glance at the offender, bellowed out at me "Mutinous behavior on the high seas????? You can't charge him with that, it's a hanging offense" and stumped off for pre-luncheon G & T's with all the rest of the lunchtime G & T hierarchy.
    So, back down to the 2nd steward and explained as diplomatically as possible to him that the charge would have to be re-worded. To which he sarcastically replied "Well lets see if you can come up with something that will only get them to make him walk the ***king plank !!"

Austin

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Mutiny on the high seas

He was probably quiet right it was probably still a death sentence attached. It hasn’t been too long ago that it was scratched from the statute books. The highest fine would have been a days pay loss and fined a days pay for riotous behaviour. But worse of all his tap may have been stopped. Cheers JS