Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: The Royston Grange and my bucket list of 1.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: The Royston Grange and my bucket list of 1.

Great message Frank -Thank you. I was an apprentice in the Royston for 4 round trips in '61 and, like you I was appalled to read of the River Plate collision. By this time I had got my 1st Mates' ticket and, following 3 years with Saguenay shipping of Montreal I was working as manager of the freight department in the offices of a Melbourne shipping company.
    Like you, my very favourite ship was the Royston Grange, but I have to say that the old (1943) C1A cargo ship of Saguenay shipping came a very close second! I am now happily retired, following a 35 year career in Air Traffic Control in Australia and as an ATC training Consultant in the UK where I now live. Maybe one day I'll visit the Montevideo memorial like you have.

David R.

2. Thanks Frank Thorp, Des Taff Jenkins, Mike Hall thanked for this post
    Likes j.sabourn, N/A, Doc Vernon liked this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

#11 Just reading recently of your search for a Saguenay cap badge , now again just seen this post where you mention your career in ATC. Do you know the well known expert on civil airlines whose face is well known on the TV , his name once again beats me , but he is always picked up by the media for his take on any aircraft disasters .
    His face if I passed on the street would recognise but his name beats me , however last month or maybe the month before he gave a talk at my Probus club. Believe he lives in Australia but was on his way the following day to London for some big AirLine conference. He started his career In the aircraft industry as a boy airplane spotting.