Thread: "Otranto" and "Orford", Marseilles, June 1940.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default "Otranto" and "Orford", Marseilles, June 1940.

My father, the late Arthur "Notchy" Knight was a Baker and Pastry-cook by trade, who sailed with Orient Line from the early 1920's until 1946. He sailed on "Otranto" throughout the Second World War. "Otranto" was cruising in New Guinea when war was declared, and was ordered to return to Sydney, where it took part in the first troop convoy from New Zealand and Australia to the Middle East. From there she returned to the U.K. "Otranto" and her sister ship "Orford" were chartered by the Ministry of War Transport, and loaned to the French government, which sent them to Madagascar to carry French colonial troops and agricultural labourers to France. Both ships called at Mombasa to load cotton in the cargo holds.

The sisters arrived at Marseilles, and "Otranto" was ordered to berth in the port. Captain Baxter allowed shore-leave, and several crew members, including my father, went ashore on the afternoon of 01st June. He was alone in a bar when the Waiter walked up to him and asked "Are you from the English ship?" My father said "Yes". The Waiter said "You should go, something terrible has happened". My father ran back to the ship, and arrived just as the gangway was being hove-in. He threw himself on the gangway, as was dragged on board with it. Unbeknownst to my father, while he was ashore, the "Orford" which was in the anchorage, had been bombed by Luftwaffe aircraft and was blazing furiously. 14 of the crew had been killed. One of the bombs had hit the Engine Room, and there was little chance of fighting the fire. She drifted ashore and was gutted by fire.