Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Jump to Comments

SS. British Industry

1 Comments by Doc Vernon Published on 26th November 2019 08:53 PM
    Posted on behalf of Spencer Lewis with many thanks - Great Tales

SS. British Industry

This ship was to be my first deepsea ship. I had been working for 9 months on the BP Tankers laid upon the River Fal.
    The BP Superintendent Mr. Johnstonsent a Taxi from Falmouth to pick me up at King Harrys Ferry landingleaning the British Piper, take me and my Bags to Falmouth to join aBP Super tanker, 32,000 tons, for me that was massive as the ships Iworked on in the Fal were all 8,000 /12,000 tons.
    They were all Motor ships, this wasa Steam turbine that could push the ship to 16 Knots, but withadjustments to the Fuel burners could make 18 knots.
    British Industry, just out of DryDock on the lay by berth finishing off minor repairs, When I walkedon board, I could immediately see the size in the length and the Beam“Breadth”.
    Introduced to the chief Steward anice guy from Peterhead, but at least I could understand him! WillieReid. Later in in my career I was to know him and his Wife verywell.
    The catering staff compliment was 13men which included 3 off us boy ratings. All assistant stewards worea white jacket with silver buttons, and the Company emblem on thefront pocket, I thought this was good Catering boys had chefstrousers and a White T shirt, certainly a change from the River Falstyle.
    I signed on the ships Articles onthe 23.06.1961, finally got possession of my seaman’s book R732359I would not see the book again until we paid off.
    I was not like a First trip boy, asI had my schooling on the ships laid up, that was a big help.
    Later when I looked up at the shipfrom the Quayside I realized how big she was, comparing her to otherships in Falmouth at that time. I must admit I felt quite proud. Thesize made me think could this ship roll in bad weather! I found outlater.