Article: Serving in the Netherlands Merchant Navy during the war by Nicolas Wensveen

1. Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Jump to Comments

Serving in the Netherlands Merchant Navy during the war by Nicolas Wensveen

3 Comments by Doc Vernon Published on 28th September 2019 08:03 AM
    I was in Argentina when Hitler invaded the Netherlands. I was a junior officer in the Netherlands Merchant Navy and we had just loaded about 10,000 tons of maize for Rotterdam. We were told by our company to stay put until they decided what to do. After a week or so it appeared that our Government had been moved to London and would get instruction from them. We were then told to go to Freetown for orders, after that to Dakar, then to Casablanca, then Bordeaux, staying approximately a week in each port. it was while we were anchored in the mouth of the Gironde that a British cruiser told us to follow him. We finished up in Falmouth in the dark and to be told that we were in a minefield. Next morning we went in convoy towards London, it was then I spotted the first submarine of the war. On arrival in London, our cargo had started to sprout and was three feet high in the holds. Total time taken was about twelve weeks instead of the normal three and a half to four weeks.
    While in London, I was trained as a Gunnery Offcier by the Royal Navy. We did not get a gun, but were issued with a rifle to be kept on the bridge and to be used to kill the pilot of any aircraft attacking us.
    Because the Channel was too tricky, we sailed along the East Coast around Scotland into the Atlantic, where we scattered west of Ireland and proceeded on our own bound for Iraq round the Cape of Good Hope to the Persian Gulf. We loaded a full cargo of dates in various packages. Drinking the water in Basrah gave most of us diarrhoea and we had to go to hospital for tests.