Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Brief encounter

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Brief encounter

I’d like to share a story that I hope might be of some interest to members.
    I was a Radio Officer (sparks) from 1976 till 1982. I’m born, bred & live in Sussex but I studied at Fleetwood nautical college, Lancs.
    Employed by Marconi Marine I went to sea at the age of 18 & sailed with various companies including Sugar line, Bank line, Ben line & Fyffes.
    In the 80’s I left Marconi & sailed foreign flag with United Arab Shipping Co (uasc). It was a sign of the times unfortunately, as the UK merchant fleet was in decline.
    One trip found me on an Iraqi flag ship working the east coast of the USA. The final port before returning to the Persian gulf was Baltimore where we had a partial crew change.
    One day out of Baltimore I was halfway through my evening watch. The watch involved sending & receiving routine ships traffic, transit & weather reports etc while constantly monitoring 500khz in the medium frequency (mf) band. That being the maritime calling & distress frequency. All communication on 500khz was in morse code and the range was anything from 300 to 1200 miles depending on atmospheric conditions.