Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Thread: Deck Certification

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Deck Certification

I have sailed with an engineer who served his time in a sewing machine factory and another who was a Blacksmith only it wasn’t in a shipyard it was a Smithy. He was a professional 3 engineer and by all accounts a good one. He would have been well over a 100 today if still alive. A Chief who I sailed with on a few ships , now dead, was a time served electrician in the shipyard another one well knowing his job. A second mate I had with me when I was mate was a shipwright by trade and had a mates cert. it was his intention to get his masters and then start again in the engine room and try and make history by having both certificates . Whether he succeeded or not I never heard . Hope he did. Cheers JS PS his name was Tom Smith from Wallsend.. JS
    Last edited by j.sabourn; 23rd March 2024 at 10:45 AM.
    R575129

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

JS
    Here a a few of pics that will bring back memories to you the first has a couple of 18 tonne Stevepris anchors and the second shows the bouys you mentioned. Also a guy coming up to the rig using a Billypew which is not used now in the North Sea they have to use a Frog now (last pic) which you sit strapped inside, I prefered to use a Billypew. I always admired the guys who worked the decks of supply boats especially in the North Sea in Winter.

On another subject when ever I revalidated my C/E ticket I only required one years sea time in the previous five years.

img327.jpg

img148.jpg

100_0304.jpg

UK003715

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)