Thread: Millitary and Work History

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Millitary and Work History

Hiya, New member and first post. Thank you for adding me
    I am fairly new to family research, but i am fine with Family history, but i really struggle navigating Military and Work history research. I haven't got a clue where to start, where to look, what to search for and the National Archives site is just a minefield to me.

Ive been trying to find my Great Grandfathers tug boat Master Mariner work history for over year, Robert Davison, born 15th March 1857, died 12th October 1936. he had been on the Wearside shipping for over 60 years, 40 of which was with Lambton shipping, i now believe is Tanfield Steam shipping company. He is credited with saving many lives and id love information on his work, boats and any information on what he did to save the lives, we believe as part of the Merchant Navy during WW1 rescuing ships.

His son Walter (Harding, but not in Navy records) Davison, born 2nd November 1894 and Died August 1978 signed up for the Merchant Navy in 1914, i have his register, but then i have him in the Peace Parade photograph in a soldiers uniform in Fawcett Street Sunderland 1920, and i cannot find any info ion him either for his WW1 records. I have his WW2 info for the DLI which he signed up for in 1926.

I do have a couple of pictures, one of Robert, the Master Mariner and his son my Granda Walter, in the Peace parade, and his Merchant Navy registration. I do have a one of him with his regiment marching but its too big to upload.

Granda MN reg.jpg
    Peace Parade 2.jpg
    IMG-20210422-WA0003.jpg

Any tips, where to search, what to enter would be really appreciated.
    Thank you in advance.

Trish

Both born and died in Sunderland.
    Last edited by Trish Corner; 11th February 2024 at 02:04 PM.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)