Thread: MV Debrett

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default MV Debrett

Hello all mariners.

Having just found this site, I was very interested in a thread I came across that was posted up way back in April 2011. The post was from a Peter Axon, who mentioned that he sailed on the MV Debrett in 1963 & his comment referred to a visit to Recife, which was my very first port of call after I'd joined the MN in 1962, & sailed on the Debrett after first calling in Swansea, Newport & then bunkering up in Las Palmas. He also mentioned the serious engine room fire in 1963. I was a Junior Engineer on the Debrett from November 1962 to August 1963, so that must have happened after I'd signed off with Lamport & Holt. She was built in 1940, 1955 transferred to Blue Star Line renamed Washington Star, 1956 reverted to Debrett, 1964 sold, renamed Ambasciata and later scrapped. A full list of L&H ships can be found here, Lamport and Holt Line Although she was a motor vessel, she is listed here as a Steamship!
    It would be great if any of my shipmates from that time spotted this post & got in touch.

I had a very spooky coincidental experience which involved a port visit in 1964 & present day. I might just share it on the forum sometime.

Regards

BeeJay

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: MV Debrett

Welcome Bryn
    Well you never know on here many an old Friend has been found using this site!
    I hope that this may be yet another for you!
    Thanks for joining and Yes do post that life experience I am sure it will be very interesting!
    Cheers
    Senior Site Moderator-Member and Friend of this Website

R697530

3. Thanks N/A thanked for this post
    Likes N/A liked this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)