Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Thread: Disability and how we view it

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Disability and how we view it

Quote Originally Posted by Louis the fly View Post
    I find it difficult to have a conversation with my grandson. He answers with a yes or no and obviously finds it very hard to open up. He prefers the computer world to the real world, although I have read a lot on autism I don't know if this is good or bad. My daughter has said there has been a big improvement since he recently began seeing a counsellor who is also autistic. He has found an interest in art which I am happy about because this is one of my interests and perhaps something we can share.
    I am no expert Louis and like you have done much reading on this subject. There are so many levels on the autistic spectrum making it very diicult to understand.
    i.e.( From low functioning to high functioning) Each individual seem to have their own special talent, likes and dislikes. I understand the frustration and anxiety caused to your family by the exclusions and the attitudes taken by some "educational professionals" ? We also have been down this route and find it etremely unpleasant, and tiresome. I am so glad that your daughter is strong and that he obviously has a caring family, without such the mind boggles. All comes down to money and budgets / lack of at the end of day. We have found that it is a continual fight to make sure that the relevant people do that which is required.In reply to the "yes and no" conversation this seems a normal "Trait" in some but usually they converse when they find something of interest. His interest in art sounds positive and your love of this could lead to many happy hours. Best wishes kn
    Last edited by Ken Norton; 8th February 2019 at 04:26 PM.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Louis the fly View Post