Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Thread: Examination. Masters and Mates

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Examination. Masters and Mates

I went to sea in 1969 as a Junior Engineer, I worked hard studying lots of maths for my Chief Engineers Licence. I was deep sea for many years and the only time I used maths was in working out the slip on a propeller, thankfully Variable Pitch Propeller's arrived and this ended. I then went offshore and eventually became an oil rig surveyor, then as a trainer for rig crews, and in all that time I did not have to use Mathematics.
    I must admit I enjoyed learning Maths but found it a bit of a waste of time on the job.

2. Likes Des Taff Jenkins liked this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Speaking as an ex CDI Ship Inspector of Chemical & Gas Tankers, ships are still required to have two separate means of position fixing. On Ocean Passage, this means GPS plus one other means, which essentially is Celestial Navigation. Two separate GPS does not satisfy this requirement.

As an Inspector, we required to see adequate proof of use of this second means, which is often demonstrated by the production of a 'sight-book'.
    I did quite often ask for the attending Bridge Officer to show me how he removed the Sextant from its box. That often caused some confusion, which only served to indicate a certain lack of practice.

To answer the question, in terms of Navigational Equipment redundancy, the DF disappeared some years ago and it is no longer required to carry a chronometer - as the GPS will do.
    Now, we are seeing a proposal by the MNTB, in their efforts to oust outdated subjects from the STCW syllabus in order to build future competence (for example union purchase derricks & communication by Morse Code are proposed for removal), however this proposal includes the removal of Celestial Navigation from the syllabus.