Thread: Pension Tax Relief & SED

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Pension Tax Relief & SED

Hi,
    I am currently working in the Merchant Navy, I am a UK resident. For the past four years I have been claiming Seafarers Earnings Deduction on 100% of my wages. During this time I have also continued to make contributions to pensions that I set up before I was claiming SED. Tax relief for these pensions has continued to be claimed by my pension providers. It has only just occurred to me that on account of claiming SED I might not be eligible for tax relief on the pension contributions, can anybody give me any information about this?
    Thanks
    Chas

2. Thanks Captain Kong thanked for this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Pension Tax Relief & SED

Hi Chas, keep looking in, someone will probably know, it is weekend and usually quiet.
    Cheers
    Brian

4. Thanks C Greene thanked for this post
    john sutton Guest

it might be worth contacting your pension provider and see if they are claiming relief for previous years when you did not claim the full relief you were entitled.this is called carry back and to best of my knowledge you can use up to 7 years relief entitlement.
    This info is based on my experience as a financial adviser and my be slightly out of date as I have been retired for 17 years but some of the rulings should still apply

6. Thanks C Greene thanked for this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)