Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Hello from Mid Wales

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Question Hello from Mid Wales

Hello,

I have joined mainly for some research. Being a writer I would rather use correct terms and facts and look for places to find them. My books always have some sea-time in them, I expect because I was brought up in Southampton with a yachtie Dad who motor-sailed the Solent area in his Fairy Fisherman. My mum used to take us to tour the cruise ships when they came in. I could hear the dredgers working at night, and loved the New Year's hoots from the ships in the docks. I got to know the Solent area very well growing up and watching the various ships coming and going, but my favourite were the J class yachts and tall ship, the Royalist which we often saw. I learnt to sail in various little boats as well as do various school trips to France and the Channel Islands on the Ferries and at 18 I got a place as crew on the sail training tall ship, Malcolm Miller.

I continued to sail after getting married and having children. We sold our home and chucked in our jobs and went on a longer voyage, though only in British waters. Now we are in landlocked Mid Wales, a beautiful natural place equally as nice and nasty as the sea, with no regrets, except missing the sights and sounds of the sea from time to time.

If anyone has read this far, my first question is regarding small boats and tenders; Why do they have bung holes?

Barbs

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Hello from Mid Wales

Hello Barbara. As an urchin hanging around the cobles drawn up on the sands at Hartlepool, I saw the cobles were rarely covered when stored between fishing trips. Yet they were not filled with rainwater - so I assume they were stored with drainage bungs removed. Is that the purpose?
    Harry Nicholson

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)