Thread: Hello

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Hello

Hello all and thank you for the warm welcome.

My reason for joining the forum is that my father was in the Merchant Navy.
    I'm currently going through his discharge books that begin in 1951 and lead up to his death in 1998. I'm also studying archiving and information preservation at the University of Glasgow (mature student). I have for years been meaning to collate my father’s documents and circumstances collided to give impetus to the project.
    I have reached up to 1967 in the books and my father is steadily rising up the ranks (he reached Captain in the end). I’m filling in an excel sheet with all the details. I must say despite being over 20 years since my father’s death I’m finding it quite emotional (in a good way). The sacrifices that he made for me and my family are brought into sharp perspective when you see that amount of time away from home. Of course, I grew up with his prolonged absences and you get used to it a normal.

In my research I’ve been constantly been led to your site. It appears to be a great resource that I’ll make good use of. I’m quite keen to correlate his career to the decline in the British merchant navy. At the end of his career he was working for foreign countries.

Once again thanks for the welcome

Regards

Matt Lindsay

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Hello

Hello Matt
    Welcome to the site and thank you for your opening post most informative ,and i must say a good project you have going there.
    It is always nice to do such research and write memories of past Relatives,and in your case like many here are compiling a good record of his past Years,
    Its never too late to do these thins Matt,so you just carry on ,and in the end it will be well worth it all.
    The site is one of all types of Subjects so I am sure you will find lots to take your interest.