Thread: Hello and help

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Hello and help

Hello,

Firstly, thank you for allowing me access as a member to your site. My history is that I'm not an ex-seaman, I was a soldier (infantry) and currently a police officer.

My interest in the Merchant Navy stems from my granddad. I am exploring my family history and due to my military background I am researching my families military background. I have managed to find my other relatives quite easily through MOD establishments providing copies of their service records however I have found my research into the Merchant Navy much more difficult, thank fully I seem to have found your community, who I'm sure will be able to assist me.

My granddad served in the Merchant Navy during WW2. I have managed to piece together some information from the National Archive and I obtained a redacted copy of his seamans pouch, which I'm pleased to say, included a photograph. I have tried to see what Medals he would have been entitled to in BT395, unfortunately I cannot find a record of him, this may be because he never claimed them.
    From my research I believe I will need to get a copy of something called a CRS10 however they do not appear to be digital and it is likely the National Archive will charge me a substantial amount to research this, I am really hoping if there is someone on this site who has some way of obtaining this in a cheaper manner than asking the National Archive to research it. I would go and visit the archive myself but I live in Fleetwood and it's a long journey to consider. Would anyone know if I could pay an agent, closer to the archive, to conduct this research for me at a cheaper cost than the Archive would charge?

These are the details I know. My granddad was:
    Arthur Hebron Vickers bn.19/09/1925
    His Discharge No. R298775
    He did his RN Training at HMS General Gordon and was then posted to the Merchant Navy at Liverpool