Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Happy New Year! 70th Atlantic & 70th Arctic Convoy Anniversaries this year.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Happy New Year! 70th Atlantic & 70th Arctic Convoy Anniversaries this year.

Happy New Year!

I'm a professional military history writer and have enjoyed using this site for research purposes. I'm proud to say that I come from a family of merchant seamen from Liverpool, who all served their time in WW1 & WW2. Now I write about their adventures and keep their memory alive in ebooks. August 2012 was the 70th Anniversary of the Malta Convoy. I decided to write the story of my late grandfather, Thomas Smedley, then 52. He was a merchant seaman on the Brisbane Star, one of the few surviving ships from Operation Pedestal, that made it to Malta with vital aid for the starving maltese people. I published this short ebook packed with photographs, maps and leading personalities of the day on Amazon kindle, and have since sold lots of copies.

So for New Year anyone with memories at sea, write down your stories in an ebook and start a new career for yourself! I've since sold (at a low cost) other ebooks on WW1 and WW2 stories. I'm at present writing about the arctic convoys, my late father, John Richards, then 20, was on the convoys that led to the Battle of North Cape: December 1943, which resulted in the sinking of the German Battlecruiser 'Sharnhorst' and the apalling loss of 2,000 sailors. The 70th Anniversary of the Battle of North Cape is in December this year. My respect goes to all sailors on all sides who lost their lives in WW2. There are no winners in war. It was a job that had to be done.