Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Beaverford 1960

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Beaverford 1960

Anyone around that sailed on the Beaverford in the late fifties and sixties?
    I read about the "white Beavers" - these were just coming in when I departed for greener pastures.
    I spent most of my CP time sailing out of Antwerp. In those days when Belgium was a colonial power, Antwerp swung 7/24 and as the Beaver boats moored on the river berths (23/24/25) was ideal for trotting up the St.Paulusstrasse to where the action was around the St.Paulussplatts.
    I remember Erma's bar (Cafe d'Valk) and the Ringo (Mariar's place) and many more.
    Antwerp was our home port and the antics we got up to left me with so many happy memories of the place.
    I was an engineer aboard Beaverford for a total of two and a half years. She was a wreck in many respects but I don't think I ever sailed on a happier ship.
    I would welcome contact from anyone from that time.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

G'day Kenneth and welcome to the site. Do you have alist of the ships you sailed on and maybe some dates? If so and you care to post them on sie there is a good chance someone you sailed with will see it and reply. So sit back with a cold one and enjoy the voyage.
    Happy daze John in Oz.

Life is too short to blend in.

John Strange R737787
    World Traveller

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Sailed on the Beaverdell and Beavercove in the 50-60ies.
    Great memories of bars mentioned.
    Welcome aboard Kenneth.
    Den.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default More Beaverford

Thanks Den and Oz John - Between April 58 and April 63 I sailed with only Guinea Gulf and CP.