Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Millennials in shipping

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Millennials in shipping

Hello everyone, I'm a shipping journalist for a magazine called Safety at Sea. I'm really interested in finding out why millennials (people born early 1980s to early 2000s) want to have careers at sea.

Would love it if you could tell me what attracted you to the job, what you look for in a career in general and if that measures up to your experiences at sea. And also is there anything you wish would change or improve about seafaring? Finally, do you think you will stay working at sea for the rest of your career or are you looking to change careers after a few years?

Look forward to hearing your answers and thanks in advance.

Tanya Blake
    tanya.blake@ihsmarkit.com

2. Thanks Doc Vernon, Captain Kong, j.sabourn thanked for this post
    john sutton Guest

Default Re: Millennials in shipping

I,m afraid you,re talking to the wrong people.We went to sea because we had always wanted to or our families had a seafaring tradition or there was nothing else on offer for a 16 year old lad.You are assuming that everybody gave a lot of deep and meaningful thought to the idea of going to sea.The answer to your final question is that there is probably nobody on this website that is still at sea.I left the sea 60 years ago.
    Suggest you give up on this train of thought

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Tanya Blake View Post
    Hello everyone,

Look forward to hearing your answers and thanks in advance.

Tanya Blake
    tanya.blake@ihsmarkit.com
    ####with respect to todays sea faring fraternity i cant understand why any of them would want to go to sea .......cappy
    Last edited by Doc Vernon; 10th August 2017 at 09:50 AM.

5. Likes j.sabourn, N/A, thomas michael liked this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)