Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Jump to Comments

Another step up

3 Comments by John T Morgan Published on 29th March 2019 06:54 PM
    Another step up

When I obtained my 2nd Mates Certificate in 1953 I had the problem of finding a job; because I didn’t have a Company to which I could return as a deck officer I had a lot of searching to do. Most of it disappointing, this was brutally brought home to me by the response of one marine superintendent. A curt ‘‘go back to the company that raised you’’. So, after many frustrating attempts I somehow found myself in the offices of the Clan Line explaining myself once more to a very pleasant receptionist. Shortly after I was ushered into the Marine Superintendent’s office where I told my same old story to a very receptive old sailor.

The end result was his suggestion that as I had no experience of the Clan Line it would be best if I were to join them as a fourth mate for one trip where I would keep a watch with the first mate and so become accustomed to the Company before I was elevated to third mate, I would of course be on third mate’s pay starting from today! I was delighted to accept and was told they would telephone with further details later that week. His parting remark was “remember that the safe and efficient transportation of cargo was the Company’s bread and butter”.

I spent several days at home anxiously awaiting further orders when I was told to join the ‘Clan Mactaggart” at Birkenhead. She was loading a general cargo, sailing in ten day’s time on the company’s regular run to South Africa and India.