PDA

View Full Version : Gsnc

Stuart Henderson
10th January 2009, 01:46 PM
Hello all, Im a newbie to this site. I was at sea 1947 to 1977 in catering. My first ten years I more or less operated on a programme of one ship,one trip but of course at times the Pool had different ideas. However usually when I had a girl friend I liked the GSNC ships which were short trips and I could get home each night when in London, Irongate Wharf,London Docks or Regents Canal Dock. They were all good little ships and a DOCKING BOTTLE each week more or less as it was the Captains bond. My first ship was WOODCOCK in 1950 on the Bordeaux run stayed in her about 4 months. Next was Seamew to Oporto another three months which of course involved several short runs That was 1953,. Also then did a short spell on Royal Sovereign running day trips Tower Bridge to Margate & Southend. Another girlfriend another GSN but something a bit different Dec 1954/Jan 1955 (home for Christmas) on the troopship Empire Parkeston running Harwich/Hook of Holland with troops of the BAOR. An amazing point about this ship she sailed at midnight docked about 6am next morning so I was in bed all voyage.... I was officers mess steward. In 1955 couple of monthson the little Drake. Running to Tonnay Charente nearest port to Cognac and that was our cargo. In 1956 FAUVETTE and a diffrent run through Kiel Canal to Copenhagen with private visits to Carlsberg Brewery as a leisure activity. Second period on DRAKE followed in quick succession by WHITEWING and GANNET. Last ship with them was HERON in 1957, nice little ship. There were other company ships in between some of the aforementioned, but I was very fond of GSNC which was a subsidery of P&O. The crew office was right on Tower Bridge at Irongate Wharf ,this site now long gone and a hotel.